Harbor Slip Management Policy

POLICY

It is the policy of the Parks and Recreation Division to provide limited-term recreational mooring opportunities at State Operated harbor facilities. Mooring is permitted in designated harbors of refuge or established marinas in designated slips following payment of established fees. The Department of Natural Resources has the authority according to Public Act 451, Part 781 to manage state owned harbors.

PROCEDURES

Section I: Definitions

A. Classifications:

- 1) Boat is a vessel powered by oars, sails or a motor used on the navigational waters
- 2) <u>Harbor</u> A protected area within a body of water allowing watercraft a basin to moor.
- 3) Marina A boat basin with facilities, such as docks, moorings, and supplies for boats.

B. Programs

- Harbor of Refuge A system of Federal or State designated areas where transient boaters may seek refuge from inclement weather within the harbor, bar, or channel. Some of these harbors are strictly natural inlets and do not have phones or other amenities. They provide a location to moor until weather conditions improve.
- 2) Grant-In-Aid Marinas Michigan State Waterways Fund sponsored marinas operated and maintained by local units of government are subject to the conditions of their Grant-In-Aid (GIA) agreements with the State of Michigan. Grant-In-Aid facilities also serve as part of the Harbor of Refuge system.
- 3) State Owned/Operated Marinas Michigan State Waterways Fund developed facilities located on State or leased property and managed by State personnel or State concession contracts.
- 4) Harbor Development Michigan State Waterways Funded facilities developed on public land through a public-private partnership with a private developer selected through an open competitive bid process. These facilities are fully developed, operated and maintained by the developer under conditions of a long term lease (up to 25 years with a 5 year option).

C. Dockage

1) Overnight/Transient – Any watercraft mooring within the developed facilities for period beginning at 3:00 PM and ending at 1:00 PM the next day.

- 2) Doubling Two boats are moored within the length of the slip (e.g. a 29 ft and a 25 ft within a 60 ft. slip)
- 3) Rafting (Mooring off another boat instead of securing directly to the pier) one or more vessels are connected adjacent to the primary slip occupant.
- 4) Daytime Any vessel moored at a facility in a temporary nature (see Section IV Daytime Dockage).
- 5) Seasonal Any vessel permitted moorage at a marina for the length of the boating season.
- 6) Monthly Any vessel permitted moorage at a marina for a length of 30 day intervals beginning July 15th of later.

Section II: General Acts and Authorities

A. Legislation

1) Natural and Environmental Resources Protection Act of 1994

Michigan State Waterways Commission – Subchapter 4

Watercraft and Marine Safety – Subchapter 5

B. Administrative Rules

- 1) R299.922 Unlawful Acts on State Land
- 2) R299.923 Public access sites and harbor; unlawful acts

Rule 23. In addition to the unlawful acts specified in R 299.922, at state-owned public access sites and harbors, it is unlawful for a person or persons to do any of the following:

- To moor or raft off a state dock without having paid the docking fees authorized by the department for use of the facility.
- To enter, use, or occupy the premises during the hours of 11 pm to 4 am daily where such closing hours are posted on the premises; or to swim, wade, or bathe when specifically prohibited by notices posted on the premises.

C. Land Use Orders of the Director

- 1) Upon entering the protected area within the harbor, all watercraft must operate at a slow, no wake speed.
- 2) Fishing within the harbor is not allowed on the marina piers or moored/docked boats.
- 3) Access to the finger piers is restricted to staff and transient boaters and not open to the general public.
- 4) Noise within the harbor may be easily amplified on the water and boaters should be considerate of other boaters, especially during the evening and early morning hours.
- 5) Grilling or other cooking elements are strictly prohibited on the boats and piers.

Section III: Transient Mooring Procedure

A. Overnight:

The overnight moorage fee schedule is posted in the dock attendant's office. The fee is based on the overall length of the vessel for each overnight stay. Bow and stern projections are to be included in determining overall boat length. Attendants do not have to measure boats, but should ask the boat owner to state the length of their boat. Check in begins at 3:00 PM. If the boater's slip is vacant before 3:00 PM, the boater may occupy the slip.

B. Doubling:

When two boats are moored in a slip, the first boater will be charged full price. The second boater will be charged half price and are allowed use of restroom facilities but shall not be provided with power or water at this rate. However, it will be the second boater's responsibility to seek arrangements with the first boater to share power and water service if they so desire. The first boater is under no obligation to share their power and water service. Any boater receiving power and water shall be charged full rate. Attendants should not get involved in the arrangements made by boaters for sharing power or water except to assure compliance with electric and water service codes.

C. Rafting:

Vessels that are rafted onto properly moored vessels shall be charged half the normal dockage rate and are allowed use of the restroom facilities but shall not be provided electrical power or water service. The rafted boater shall have the responsibility to make arrangements with the rightful moored boater to share power and water service but the rightful moored boater is under no obligation to do so. Any boater receiving power and water shall be charged full rate. Harbormaster will decide whether rafting will be provided at their facility and where it is allowed and in compliance with electrical and water service codes and proper payment of usage.

Section IV: Day Docking Procedure

There shall be no charge made for temporary moorage at the service dock for the purpose of providing fueling and pump-out service. This policy also applies to dinghies that are tied to the service dock. When the boater pays the fee for daytime temporary moorage, the dock attendant shall inform the boater that if they fail to vacate the slip by the required time, they will have to pay the overnight transient moorage fee minus the day dockage fee. If the harbormaster determines that transient boat traffic is likely to be heavy enough so that the slip will likely be rented to an overnight transient boater, the harbormaster may deny day dockage or the boater occupying the slip for daytime temporary moorage shall be required to vacate the slip by 3:00 p.m. If the harbormaster determines that the boat traffic is light, the daytime temporary moored boat may be allowed to occupy the slip until a predetermined time authorized by the harbormaster. Boats occupying a slip after 5:00 PM are considered overnight dockage and the day dockage fee will be applied as the portion of paid fee towards one night of stay.

Section V: Seasonal Docking

At some State-owned mooring facilities, slips are authorized to be rented for seasonal moorage.

A. Arrangements for seasonal slip leases are made only through Unit Supervisor/Manager and are subject to approval by the Division Office, Resource Management Section. Inquiries regarding

- slip leases shall be referred to the local Unit Supervisor/Manager. The Dock Attendant shall not accept any money as payment on a lease either existing or contemplated.
- **B.** The number of seasonal slips shall be reviewed each year to determine the appropriate number for each facility. The Department shall consider transient demand, impact on local marinas and any Federal or State restrictions before adding seasonal slips.
- C. Boaters who have a current lease for a particular size slip will be offered the first opportunity to lease the same size slip each subsequent year. Seasonal slip opportunities are granted to the owner of the specific boat described and is not assignable to any other person, entity or boat without the advance written consent of the DNR. Partial disposition of ownership by the permittee must be reported to and accepted in writing by the DNR to continue the grant of this permit in full force and effect. The Unit notifies previous renters of seasonal moorage rates, allowing a response deadline of four (4) weeks to return application and payment. (Seasonal Slip Offer Form PR3233). Staff must verify the name on the boater registration matches the name of the individual under agreement for the seasonal slip.
- D. Seasonal slip renewal fees are determined by the Department with the advisement of the Waterways Commission. Staff must use Seasonal Slip Rental Agreement (PR3230) for leasing seasonal slips. The Harbormaster shall determine the seasonal slip fee payment schedule for the following boating season; although 50% of the fee must be paid by December 1st and total fee must be received not later than April 1st. Failure of a boat owner to remit payment by designated dates shall be cause for cancellation of any rights to rent any slip at any State docking facility. In the event a boat owner wishes to cancel the lease prior to July 1 of any year, the boat owner shall be entitled to a 50% refund of the fee paid. Cancellations after that date shall not entitle the boat owner to any refund.
- E. If the boater declines to renew their seasonal lease, the Unit notifies the next person on the waiting list regarding an open slip at the harbor. This may be done in writing (Seasonal Slip Offer Form PR3233) or by phone. A confirming Seasonal Slip Billing Form PR3232 is sent with the Seasonal Slip Rental Agreement PR3230 indicating fee rental amount and a response deadline. Seasonal slips may not be subleased by the lessee for use by boats owned by anyone other than the lessee.
- **F.** Any irregularities in the information provided by the lessee shall be reported immediately to the Unit Supervisor. When all seasonal slips have been rented, each Unit Supervisor shall provide the District Supervisor and the Resource Management Section, Lansing Office with a compiled list of all seasonal renters for each State mooring facility.
- **G.** Harbormaster shall assign seasonal boats to the appropriate sized slip as follows:
 - No boats shall be permitted to neither extend beyond the slip at the rear nor extend over the walkway on shore.
 - The length of a boat shall be determined from its outermost projection at the bow to its outermost projection at the stern and not merely by the length of the boat hull.
- **H.** The number and proportion of slips being seasonally rented by local units of government will be reviewed by the Waterways Commission and any changes or alterations to these numbers will be approved by the Division Office.
- I. The Department of Natural Resources reserves the right to rent seasonal slips to transient boaters when seasonal renters are out of the state harbor for a period of two (2) consecutive

- nights. Seasonal renters are required to give notice prior to a planned vacancy and not less than 48 hours notice before reentering their rented slip.
- **J.** The Department may offer partial season slip rates beginning July 15th for 30 day intervals. All participants are required to pay for the entire 30 day period fourteen (14) days prior to starting a 30 day period. Once the 30 day period has started, no refunds will be allowed. After the 30 day period has expired, boaters are subject to the transient rate or may enter into another 30 day period at the reduced seasonal rate.
- K. Refer to Seasonal Slip rental agreement (PR 3230) for additional rules and regulations

Section VI: Seasonal Slip Waiting List

- A, State Owned and/or Operated Facilities:
 - 1) The Unit Supervisor shall establish a waiting list if demand exceeds the authorized number for seasonal slips at each state owned mooring facility. All persons requesting to be placed on a waiting list for a seasonal slip shall be placed in order of receipt of their application or by lottery in the case of a new facility. Any boat slip becoming available shall be offered in order to each person on the waiting list until it is accepted. The seasonal slip fee rate for the boat slip shall be assessed even in the event a smaller sized boat is used in that slip.
 - 2) Waiting lists shall be established for a one-year period and renewed according to sub-section below. A fee shall be paid to be placed on the waiting list for the first year, the purpose of which is to cover the costs of maintaining and updating the waiting list. A waiting list fee shall be paid for the second and each subsequent year an individual wishes to remain on a waiting list. Anyone on a waiting list who refuses a slip will be moved to the bottom of the waiting list.
 - 3) Waiting lists shall be updated every year in the following manner:
 - In December following the boating season, each person remaining on the waiting list will be sent a waiting list application (Waiting List for Seasonal Slips Form PR3234).
 - Date for return of the application, along with the appropriate fee will be January 15th.
 Applicants shall retain their position on the waiting list provided the application is received on or before the deadline. Applications with deposits received after the deadline date will be placed at the end of the list in order of the date received.
 - Seasonal slip vacancies will then be filled from the list as previously ordered.
 - 4) A person leasing a boat slip who sells his/her boat and purchases a new one of a size approved for the leased slip, shall be allowed to renew the lease for the next boating season provided that application for the new lease is made and approved in the manner specified herein.
 - 5) A person leasing a boat slip who sells his/her boat and purchases a new one which requires a larger or smaller boat slip, shall compete for said larger or smaller boat slip as any person, and if a waiting list for said larger or smaller boat slip exists, said person shall be placed at the end thereof. However, if an appropriate slip is available at the time of request it may be granted. It is up to the discretion of the Unit Manager or harbormaster.
 - 6) The Unit Supervisor shall provide their staff, for each harbor at which seasonal leases are authorized, a current waiting list. Said list shall contain the name of the owner, the name and size of the boat, and the date of application. The list shall be prominently posted at the harbor at all times.
- B. Grant-In-Aid Facilities

Seasonal slip vacancies will be filled from an approved waiting list as per the following procedures:

- 1) Each community shall submit a copy of the current waiting list for seasonal boat slips annually to the Resource Management Section, Division Office by March 15th. The list may be submitted through mail or email.
- Said list shall contain the name and address of the owner, the name of the boat, and the date
 of the applications. Communities are allowed to keep separate lists based on the length of
 slip
- 3) A list of the actual assignments made at the beginning of the boating season shall be provided to the Resource Management Section, Division Office by June 1st. No assignment shall be made to any person other than the first person on the waiting list for the appropriate size slip. Any requests to place a smaller vessel within a larger slip may be filled only when there are no other slips of appropriate size available. If no appropriate size slips are available, at the discretion of the community, the boater may moor at the larger slip for one season at the appropriate fee for the size of the slip.
- 4) The waiting list shall be conspicuously and publicly posted at the boating facility at all times.
- 5) A person on a seasonal boat slip waiting list or actually renting a boat slip, who sells his/her boat and purchases a new one and the newly acquired craft can be accommodated in the originally requested slip, may continue their previous status on the waiting list.
- 6) Communities maintaining a waiting list for seasonal boat slips may elect to charge a fee for placement on such a list and may periodically purge such a list.

Section VII: Reservations

A. RESERVATIONS

- 1) Transient reservations will be reserved through Central Reservation System (CRS) at 1-800-447-2757 or on the internet at http://midnrresrevations.com/
- 2) The reservation cutoff time at the CRS call center and internet site for boat slips is the day before the arrival date. Transient reservations may be made anytime between six months in advance of the day of use and the day before arrival at the harbor. At GIA harbors, reservations may be made by contacting the harbor on the day of arrival.
- 3) At Mackinac Island State Dock the maximum sites reserved per call shall not exceed 5. Otherwise, a maximum number of 10 slip reservations per call to CRS except on specific dates set aside by the Department during times of specific events where demand for space is at a premium (see XII Slip Closure or Inventory Hold).
- 4) All reservations are subject to the CRS reservation fee when made online or through the call center prior to the arrival at the harbor. Vessels that arrive at the harbor without making a reservation prior to arrival are not subject to the reservation fee.
- 5) Unless otherwise justified, no transient vessels may remain at a State dock for more than 14 consecutive days with the exception of the Mackinac Island State Dock which has a 4 day limit. The vessel must be away from the state dock for 48 consecutive hours before it can return for another stay. It shall be the discretion of the harbormaster if transient boaters will be permitted to extend their stay beyond the maximum number of nights allowed at the facility.

B. Late Arrivals - Reservations

A slip will be held for late arrivals until 5:00 p.m. Boaters expecting to arrive later than 5:00 p.m. must contact the harbor master. Failure to contact the harbormaster will result in the cancellation of the slip without a refund and the slip will be filled with the next available boat.

C. Cancellations

- 1) All reservation cancellation requests should be referred to the call center CRS 1-800-447-2757. When a customer requests a cancellation, the cancellation charge will be deducted from the refund. They also lose the reservation fee. This function is for customers who want to cancel their entire reservation prior to arriving at the harbor or for a future date. If the call center receives the cancellation request on the arrival date, the customer will also have the first night's dockage deducted from their refund.
- 2) A reservation cancelled on the day of arrival will result in forfeiture of the reservation fee, the cancellation fee and one night's mooring fee, except where weather conditions existed which prevented watercraft from arriving at the harbor or the inability to leave the harbor of refuge for another reservation. In this case only the reservation fee is assessed for a cancellation. The harbormaster should consult the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration for final determination when judging the waiver of cancellation fees based on weather conditions.

D. No Shows - Reservations

- 1) A reserved slip may be processed as a "No Show" at 5:00 p.m. on the day of arrival, unless the boater has notified the harbor master regarding late arrival.
- 2) No fees shall be refunded for a "No Show" reservation.

E. REFUNDS:

- 1) Refunds for unused transient moorage shall only be made upon request of the registered boater. Departing boats will not receive refunds after 1:00 p.m. the day of cancellation. All refunds will be processed through the CRS computer.
- 2) Whenever a boater requests a refund, please follow procedures under PRD Policy # 1.1 Cash Handling and Security.
- 3) If payment was made with cash or check, give customer cash refund from cash on hand up to \$100. Staff must not use cash out of the change fund. If payment was by credit card, credit the customer's credit card.
- 4) If necessary, staple the original (white) copy of the refund slip to the daily ranger receipt which is printed daily from the CRS computer.
- 5) Turn in all refund slips to the immediate Supervisor at next checkout. Be certain all refunds are accounted for on the next reconciliation by entering refunds in computer.

Section VIII: Fees

The Department in conjunction with Waterways Commission advisement approves the transient, seasonal and other miscellaneous fee schedules for Waterways funded facilities.

A. Transient Mooring Fees

1) Transient Fees

The reservation system requires an extra level of cost to the Department. Rates are divided into standard and premium categories. Premium fees are used for areas with high demand. Grant-In-Aid communities need a variance request through the Department to charge a difference in the approved fee schedule. The overnight mooring fee is for a period commencing when the slip becomes occupied through 12:59 p.m. of the following day. An overnight transient boater, who wishes to occupy the slip beyond 1 p.m., shall be allowed to extend the time at the discretion of the harbormaster by paying for daytime temporary moorage. Any boat moored directly to a main pier, finger pier or broadside dock shall be charged the full fee if utilities are available; if utilities are not available, ½ the regular rate is charged.

- 2) Rafting/Doubling: Anytime a watercraft is rafting or doubling at the facilities, all boats that receive power are charged the full rate. This may be accomplished by using splitters. Any watercraft not receiving electrical or water amenities shall be charge at half the rate of the slip fee assigned to the slip.
- Day Dockage Day dockage fees are set by the Department with review from the Waterways Commission.

B. Seasonal and Monthly Fees

Seasonal fees apply to all State or Grant-in-Aid marinas. Seasonal fees are based on the length of the slip, or in cases where no defined slip is available (such as broadside moorage) the length of the vessel and all attachments. Rates are reviewed annually and reflect appropriate inflation, demand and boating trends.

Monthly fees – A prorated amount for a 30 day reduced seasonal rate beginning July 15th. The reduced seasonal rate equals the daily transient rate times 30 days discounted by 25%.

C. Registration and Cancellation Fees

- 1) Mooring fees collected shall be those in effect at the time the boater made the reservation. Slip reservations via call center or online pay are charged the reservation fee. Boaters without reservations will be charged the fees in effect, at their time of arrival-
- 2) All reservations via the call center or online are subject to the reservation fee and cancellation fee.
- 3) All reservations made prior to the arrival at the harbor are subject to the reservation and cancellation fee.

Section IX: Barrier-Free Slips

New facilities are developed in accordance to meet ADAAG standards and are considered Easy Access. Fluctuation in water levels may alter the ability for slips to meet specific standards at all times.

Section X: Registration and Slip Assignment

To have an accurate record of mooring use and to permit proper control, every boat mooring in the harbor will be registered at the time it arrives or as soon as possible thereafter. Boaters should be encouraged to register for their entire anticipated stay. If available, the dock attendant shall assist boaters in the docking of the vessels and direct boaters to the appropriate slips. Vessels shall not be permitted to dock at state harbors without adequate mooring lines in good condition. When leaving their slip for the day, the dock attendants shall instruct boaters to leave a line coiled or place a line between the end two fenders alongside the pier.

A. Procedure

- 1) The dock attendant shall become familiar with the length, clear width, and depth of water at the mooring area and at boat slips within the harbor to advise visiting boaters upon request of such information.
- 2) Boaters do not have the right to select their slips. Vessels will be assigned to slips in a manner that will provide maximum safe usage of the harbor in accordance with prevailing weather and traffic conditions.
- 3) When a visiting vessel enters the harbor, the dock attendant shall direct the craft and assign a suitable slip in accordance with the overall size and draft of the boat.
- 4) When the visiting vessel enters the slip, the dock attendant, if available, shall take a position on the finger pier to receive a line from the vessel. Upon receiving the line, the dock attendant shall secure the line and await further directions from the vessel's captain.
- 5) If a captain does not give instructions, the dock attendant shall request instructions. If it appears that the vessel will collide with the dock, the attendant will take such action as necessary to restrain the forward motion of the vessel without endangering life or limb.
- 6) The dock attendant shall, under no circumstances, use his/her body or any part of his/her body to fend a vessel away from the dock structure. The captain is always responsible for the handling of his/her vessel.
- 7) Renewals and transfers are subject to slips being available to accommodate confirmed reservations first. Extensions and slip transfers are not guaranteed. Boaters should be encouraged to register for the longest expected period or to seek an extension or transfer at the time of initial registration.
- 8) Extension and transfer deadlines shall be prominently displayed in the marina office and explained at the time of registration.

B. Check-In/Check-Out Time

- 1) Overnight mooring begins at 3:00 PM on the beginning date shown on the receipt. If the assigned slip is vacant before 3:00 PM, the boater may occupy the slip at no additional charge.
- 2) Check-out / Departure time is 1:00 PM on the date the permit expires. If boaters desire to remain in the marina after this time, they are subject to the day dockage fee and only if slip space is available.

C. Harbor Mooring Permits

- 1) All **Non-Reservation** system moorings will be registered using CRS.
- 2) During the non-peak time when the harbormaster building may be closed, marina shall follow PRD Policy # 8.5 Self Registration System, and 8.7 Violations Notices, For Letter to Permit Violators.

D. MINIMUM AGE REQUIREMENTS

A responsible person (17 years of age or older) of the party must register the boat. Identification may be required to register slip. The harbor staff may require that names of all the numbers of the party are recorded, and verification received from parents of guardians.

E. MANAGING LOCAL SALE SLIPS

A percentage of the slips are for harbormaster assignment only. CRS can not reserve these slips. **Local Sale Slips** should NOT be referred to as "float-in" or "non-reserveable" slips they should be referred to as transient slips. The purpose of these slips is to allow units to manage marinas for maximum efficiency and to provide better customer service.

Section XI: Non-Boater Use of Waterways Shower Facilities

Waterways facilities were developed for the use by the boating public. Shower/restroom facilities may be made available to the non-boating public for a per occurrence fee.

Section XII: Slip Closure or Inventory Hold

If a marina or mooring slips within a marina are to be unavailable to public mooring during established boating seasons, the Unit Supervisor/Manager must:

- 1) If closure is due to an emergency occurring on a weekend or after normal office hours, the Unit Supervisor/Manager is to instruct CRS Data management to close affected slips and then as soon as possible inform CRS Liaison and PRD personnel.
- 2) If closure is <u>due to an emergency occurring during normal office hours</u>, the Unit Supervisor/Manager is to contact the CRS Liaison staff person (Resource Management Section Chief if the CRS Liaison is unavailable) to identify/establish reason for closure.
- 3) In the case of scheduled renovation, the Unit Supervisor/Manager is to submit a request using Request to Hold Inventory Form PR3062 to appropriate District Supervisor and Resource Management Section Chief. Upon approval, submit the request to hold sites to the CRS Liaison who will forward the request to the reservation system for processing.
- 4) CRS staff will contact customers to relocate their reservation or process cancellations.

If a marina or slips within a marina are to be held from the reservation system due to the need to accommodate a scheduled public event, like a historic festival or similar public service function, the Unit Supervisor/Manager must:

- 1) Submit request using Request to Hold Inventory Form PR3062 (DNR template) to appropriate District Supervisor and Resource Management Section Chief
- 2) Upon approval, submit the request to hold sites to the CRS Liaison who will forward the request to the reservation system for processing.

Temporary site holds put in effect for individual slips during regular business hours to correct a registration error, may be done by contacting Data Management directly. No further notification is necessary.

Section XIII: Harbor of Refuge

Watercraft in need of shelter are allowed to temporarily moor within the defined basin of the Harbor of Refuge when conditions are present which inhibit the ability for watercraft to safely leave the harbor. Safe harborage does not mean a slip will be made available. The harbormaster should direct boats to the appropriate, designated harbor of refuge area. The map of harbor of refuge should be posted and available to the public within the marina. Anyone moored within the basin but not directly connected to the facilities is not subject to a fee. Use of the developed facilities will require a fee for daily or overnight mooring. It is at the discretion of the harbormaster, with data reports from NOAA and the U.S. Coast Guard, to consider when the need for the harbor of refuge is in effect.

Section XIV: Commercial Use

The Department of Natural Resources may provide facilities and services to charter boats, commercial watercraft and other commercial operations under certain conditions when authorized by the Department following advisement from the Michigan State Waterways Commission. Approval for a given season does not indicate continuous authorization for future years. Commercial activities warrant a performance bond and insurance coverage due to the impact on resources and the general public's ability to use PRD property. Staff will need to consult the Resource Management Section, Division Office before requiring a performance bond for commercial activities. Consult Department Policy 26.04.04 or the Intranet at MDNR/Land Use on instructions for Use Permits.

A. TRANSIENT MOORAGE:

- 1) Fuel sales and pump-out services will be available to charter boats during regular business hours. Charter boats or other similar commercial vessels may moor at the dock before and after the official opening and closing dates.
- 2) After the official opening date, but before June 20 licensed charter fishing boats and other commercial vessels will be permitted to dock as transients and charter from a slip. If the dock remains open in the fall after September 10, these same provisions would apply for the period from September 10 to the closing date.
- 3) Between June 20 and Sept 10, licensed charter boats and other commercial vessels will be allowed to moor, or dock at the double transient rate, unless they are approved to operate commercially out of the marina basin by a valid Use Permit authorizing their use of the marina boat launch. In this case, they are no longer subject to the double rate for transient docking. It is the responsibility of the commercial vessel to have a copy of their Use Permit available at all times. No commercial use will be allowed without approval from the Department.
- **B.** SEASONAL MOORAGE: The Parks and Recreation Division do allow commercial boats, including charter fishing boats, to rent slips at state mooring facilities for seasonal moorage. All commercial watercraft authorized seasonal moorage will be issued a Charter Fishing Vessel Agreement PR3231.
- **C.** Charter boats are allowed to launch at State administered public access sites and at sites where recreation passport fees are required. They will be charged the same rate as all other access site users.